Pediatric Dentistry

Pediatric dentistry is an age defined speciality that provides both primary and comprehensive preventive and therapeutic oral health care for infants and children through adolescence, including those with special health care needs. (AAPD 1999) Pediatric dentists promote the dental health of children as well as serve as educational resources for parents. It is recommended by the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) and the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) that a dental visit should occur within six months after the presence of the first tooth or by a child's first birthday.

The AAPD has said that it is important to establish a comprehensive and accessible ongoing relationship between the dentist and patient – referring to this as the patient's "dental home". This is because early oral examination aids in the detection of the early stages of tooth decay. Early detection is essential to maintain oral health, modify aberrant habits, and treat as needed and as simply as possible. Additionally, parents are given a program of preventative home care (brushing/flossing/fluorides), a caries risk assessment, information on finger, thumb, and pacifier habits, advice on preventing injuries to the mouth and teeth of children, diet counseling, and information on growth and development.

Department Achivement

  • Department tie up with district intervention centre JP hospital Bhopal.
  • Department tie ups with various NGOs and primary health care centres.
  • Various types of special cases performed in department.
  • Represented college department at international level.
  • Tie ups with various schools for organising oral check up and treatment camps.

Faculty List:

No. Name Department Designation
1 Dr. Soumya Jain M.D.S Lecturer
2 Dr. Namita Shrivastava M.D.S Tutor
3 Dr. Shikha Mishra M.D.S Lecturer
4 Dr. Mayank Sharma M.D.S Reader
5 Dr. Shraddha Malpani M.D.S Tutor
6 Dr. Shubhangi Rajput M.D.S Tutor
7 Dr. Utkarsh Tiwari M.D.S Reader
8 Dr. Ankit Kumar Gautam M.D.S Lecturer

Dr. Somya

Dr. Namita Shrivastava

Dr. Shikha Mishra

Dr. Mayank Sharma

Dr. Shraddha Malpani

Dr. Shubhangi Rajput

Dr. Utkarsh Tiwari

Dr. Ankit Kumar Gautam